Elementary My Dear Waston, Sherlock Holmes doesn’t dissappoint.

April 8, 2010 at 2:44 pm (Movie Reviews, Newer Movies) (, , , , , )

*Update As of 4.8.2010 16:31 pm*

In my review of Sherlock Holmes I was excited to finally see a movie really about him and not another movie that hinted at a duo like them. So, I was going into the movie with high expectations and I’m happy to say I wasn’t too disappointed.

Sherlock Holmes (2009 film)
Image via Wikipedia

Sherlock Holmes really pulls the history of London into the film and really gives some funny ideas as to way things were developed. The story encompasses 2 love stories and various fight sequences moving the story along. It follows Sherlock Holmes (Robert Downey Jr.) and Dr. John Waston (Jude Law) as they chase after Lord Blackwood (Mark Strong), because of his use of “black magic” and the murder of 5 people and kidnapping of Irene Adler (Rachel McAdams). The special effects and action sequences are done very well and I found myself stopping whatever I was doing to pay more attention to the movie (I usually have to be either on the computer or playing a game, I can’t just sit still and watch). The sequences when Sherlock plays the fight out in his mind in a flash-forward shows that even in fighting he thinks more about strategy than strength. These are some of the best parts of the movie. If your looking for a good movie to watch on the weekend I recommend you check this movie out.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Comments

  1. holbsproductions said,

    I agree that it didn’t disappoint. The acting in this movie was fantastic! The story and ending was cool. The sequences where Holmes analyzed scenarios were great. When I think of Sherlock Holmes, I thought of the exact character Mark Strong portrayed. He was a perfect villain and this movie was a great portrayal of a great hero.

    • Dan June said,

      I agree with your statement about Mark Strong and about the analyzed scenarios. I forgot to go over that, I’ll have to update and insert that into the review. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

